Help Us Open the Solar System Frontier!
Space Frontier Foundation logo
Advancing NewSpace
Click here to read previous Foundation Press Releases
Share your views on Space with your elected representatives! Enter your zip and click above to get info and links to your state and local members of Congress.
Return to the Moon
Teachers in Space
NewSpace Economic Development
Space Settlement
The Cosmos Review
Permission to Dream
The Watch
Previous Projects
Events Homepage
Additional Events
Space Store
NewSpace News
Subscribe to Updates
Space Companies
Bulletin Boards
Web Links
You can listen to Foundation Advocate Dr. David Livingston's radio show
The Space Show
by clicking above.
Press Release
Media Contact: 800-787-7223 or press@space-frontier.org
Space Frontier Foundation to Host Clarke Gala

Sir Arthur C. Clarke
Sir Arthur C. Clarke
Los Angeles, CA, August 25, 2001 – The Space Frontier Foundation will host the Clarke Gala at the Playboy Mansion on November 15, 2001. Our Master of Ceremonies is Larry King; Co-chairs are Tom Hanks, James Cameron, Alvin Toffler, Hugh Hefner, Buzz Aldrin, Frank Drake of the SETI Institute, James Lovell and actor Bill Paxton.

At the fundraising black-tie event we will be announcing the Arthur Clarke award for best presentation of space in film and TV, and the Arthur Clarke screenwriting award and competition.

Below is a summary of the event and a list of the beneficiaries.


On November 15, the Space Frontier Foundation will host a gala dinner at the Playboy Mansion in Los Angeles to honor Sir Arthur C. Clarke, eminent author and scientist, before the year 2001 comes to an end. Reflecting many of the central themes in Sir Clarke's work, 2001 marks the beginning of a new era in space exploration and development. The assembly of Space Station Alpha, humanities’ first permanent outpost in space, points the way towards that new future of greater international cooperation, involving, as it does, nations who were former adversaries.

We hope that this Gala will also celebrate the union of great storytellers and space exploration. It is a long and honorable tradition, which includes the likes of H.G. Wells, Jules Verne, Arthur C. Clarke, Stanley Kubrick and others. Such artists have inspired us over the years to grasp the grandeur, beauty, and drama of humanity's venture outward to the stars.

Consequently, the "2001" Gala will be the occasion to announce a series of awards that will be given out annually. The Arthur C. Clarke Award for Film & Television and the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Screenplay will recognize work that best represents the realistic and compelling portrayal of the human exploration and settlement of space.


The Space Frontier Foundation is an organization of space activists, scientists and engineers, media and political professionals, entrepreneurs, and citizens from all backgrounds and all nations. The organization's central goals are the expansion of life beyond the Earth and the permanent settlement of space. We believe all people have the "right stuff" and that everyone will benefit from opening the space frontier. We believe that a partnership between the heroes of our space programs and the democratic and free enterprise pioneers who are now taking on the frontier will become an unstoppable force in the opening of this new domain to the life and people of Earth.


This event will benefit several space related charitable organizations and projects. They encompass several aspects of the work going on today to open space, inspire our culture and provide new opportunities for the children of tomorrow. Permission to Dream Permission to Dream is an international project of the Space Frontier Foundation, using space to inspire and motivate underprivileged children. The project's first phase is "focused" on placing telescopes and computers in the hands of children in three very different and disadvantaged areas of the world, Sri Lanka, Africa and East Los Angeles. Under the guidance of world famous astronomer Alan Hale (co-discoverer of the comet Hale-Bopp) students will be asked to seek out and describe celestial objects such as planets, stars, comets and asteroids and then to interact with each other via the internet – connecting them with each other and the cosmos.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation
Headed by Gemini-Apollo astronaut James. A. Lovell (its President and Chairman of the Board) the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation was established in 1984 by the six surviving members of America's Mercury Seven astronauts, Malcolm Scott Carpenter, L. Gordon Cooper Jr., John H. Glenn Jr., Walter M. Schirra, the late Alan B. Shepard Jr. and the late Donald K. (Deke) Slayton. The foundation raises money for scholarships for upper level college students and those pursuing masters or doctorates in the fields of science and engineering.

The Arthur C. Clarke Centre for Modern Technologies (ACCMT)
ACCMT was created in 1984 in Colombo, Sri Lanka, to support the development of modern technologies in the fields of Communications, Computers, Energy, Space Technologies and Robotics, through the provision of training and research facilities. The institute has the infrastructure and human resources for development of products, systems and techniques for industrial applications in electronics, communications and IT (ECI) sectors, with exports in mind. Besides extensive R&D activities, the Institute is heavily involved in continuing professional development (CPD) activities and youth training programs.

The SETI Institute Haughton Mars Project
The Haughton-Mars Project (HMP) is an international, interdisciplinary field research program studying the Haughton meteorite impact crater and its surrounding terrain on Devon Island in Nunavut, Canada, located inside the Arctic Circle. Implemented through a cooperative agreement between the SETI Institute and NASA Ames Research center, HMP research focuses on Devon Island as an 'Earth analog' for the planet Mars, and comprises two main programs: comparative geological and biological studies between Earth and Mars, and research on the technologies, strategies and factors relevant to the future exploration of Mars and other planets by robots and humans. Funds from this event will be focused on educational outreach and support of this important project.

The Space Frontier Foundation is an organization of people dedicated to opening the Space Frontier to human settlement as rapidly as possible. Our goals include protecting the Earth's fragile biosphere and creating a freer and more prosperous life for each generation by using the unlimited energy and material resources of space. Our purpose is to unleash the power of free enterprise and lead a united humanity permanently into the Solar System.

Who We Are
Action Reports
Annual Awards
Press Releases
Op-Eds & Letters
Presentations, Speeches & White Papers
In the News
Other Voices
Send Us Your Comments
Join the Fight!

The High Frontier is Gerard K. O'Neill's masterpiece. This new 3rd Edition Includes an introduction by Freeman Dyson.
Click above to order The High Frontier from Amazon.com.

The Frontier Enabling Test
Our definition of a "frontier enabling" technology or policy is one which has as its effect the acceleration of the creation of low cost access to the space frontier for private citizens and companies, enables or accelerates our use of space resources, and/or accelerates the rate at which wealth can be generated in space. In other words, is the project or policy going to provide a return on the national investment, if we define "return" to be the economically sustainable human habitation of space?

For more information call 800-78-SPACE (800-787-7223)
send us your comments

Foundation Logo

Banner artwork by Mark Maxwell

Copyright © 1996 - 2008 Space Frontier Foundation. All rights reserved.
All work contained herein is protected by United States copyright/ intellectual property law.